State Regulations: Maine

Date Revised: 12/15/2014

Governing Body:   Me. Dept. of Health and Human Services | Division of Environmental Health
 
License Required:   Yes
 
License Information:   Maine State Agency Rules: Chapter 208 - Rules Relating to Boys, Girls, Boys and Girls, Day Camps and Primitive and Trip Camping (Word doc.)
 
Criminal Background Checks Required:   The state of Maine camp licensing rules clearly state the expectation that criminal background check should be conducted on each staff member. (See Rule 6.A.3.b)
 
Criminal Background Checks Information:  

Department of Public Safety - Maine State Police
42 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04330
(207) 624-7240

$31.00 per check
$21.00 for InforME subscribers in state of ME

 
State Allows FBI Checks:   No
 
Driving Record Checks:   Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles website

$7 for 3 year record
$12 for 10 year record

 
State Sex Offender Registry:   Maine Sex Offender Registry
 
Minimum Wage:   $7.50 per hour
 
Coverage and Exemptions:   Exemptions: Employees who are counselors, junior counselors or counselors-in-training at camps licensed under Title 22, Sec. 2495 and employees under 18, who are employed at organized camps and similar seasonal recreation programs not requiring such license if they are operated by a non profit organization.
 
Subminimum Wage:  

Less than state minimum wage permitted for learners, apprentices, and handicapped workers for a limited time period with a special certificate from Director of Labor.

Board and Lodging
Wages may include reasonable costs to the employer furnishing food and lodging. Food and lodging must actually be used by the employee, clearly shown on the employee statement and wage records, and approved by the Bureau of Labor Standards. Details

 
Minimum Wage Source:  

Maine Minimum Wage Poster

Maine Labor Laws FAQs

 
Overtime Pay Requirements:   1½ times regular rate after 40-hour week. Employers may not require employees to work more than 80 overtime hours over 14 consecutive days (i.e., no more than 160 hours in a 2-week period), except emergency response workers, salaried executives, seasonal employees, and medical interns and residents or other workers
 
Exemptions:   Those employees exempt from the state minimum wage; public employees.
 
Meal/Rest Period Requirements:   30-minute meal or rest period after each 6 hour shift. Exceptions: collective bargaining agreement providing otherwise; emergencies where there is danger to property, life, public safety, or health; businesses where fewer than 3 employees are on duty at one time and the nature of the work allows employees frequent breaks during the work day. Details
 

Student Exemption from Unemployment Tax?

 

Full-time Students
Student employment is exempt from taxation, if the student is attending an elementary, secondary or post secondary school while participating in a cooperative program of education and occupational training or on-the-job training that is part of the school curriculum.

Full-time Students at  a Camp
A full time student’s wages are exempt if the student worked less than 13 calendar weeks in the calendar year, and if the camp did not operate more than 7 months in this calendar year and the preceding year. 

501c3 Status and Less Than 4 Employees
In addition, if a camp has a 501C3 letter from the Internal Revenue Service, they would be exempt from unemployment tax in Maine, unless the camp has employed 4 or more employees for any part of a week for 20 weeks in a calendar year at the same time. In other words, all 4 employees work part of the same day in the same week (i.e. all work some part of Tuesday). The state would need a copy of the 501CS letter either mailed or faxed to them. The fax number is 207-287-3733.

For more information, call 207-621-5120, choose option 3, then 1.

     
Other Wages Source:  

Maine Rules Governing Rest Breaks: Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 26 §601

Code of Maine Rules, Department of Labor, 12, 170 Bureau of Labor Standards, Ch. 14

 
Additional Info:   None
 
* Federal minimum wage rate applies

 

Tags: