Course has reach capacity; registration is closed.

ACA’s New Director Orientation (NDO) is now offered in a blended/online learning format and includes an overview of all the aspects of the director's job with the primary focus on the summer operation. The course has been designed to help newer directors and supervisors develop the skills they need to be effective leaders for their camp program.

This course covers five critical areas to help directors and supervisors develop the skills they need to be effective leaders. The core areas covered include:

  • Leadership and Supervision
  • Camper and Staff Development and Behavior
  • Staff Training
  • Risk Management
  • Evaluation and Assessment 

In addition to building skills, this curriculum and the facilitators will incorporate introspection, perspective shifting, and awareness building. Completion of this training results in 12.5 continuing education credits (CECs), a digital badge and certificate of completion.

The blended course combines the asynchronous course with weekly facilitated group discussions in a virtual format. Weekly discussion sessions will meet over Zoom during the times/dates listed below. 

Facilitators: Andrea Yenter and Starr Sanders

Meeting Times: All five 90 minutes sessions begin at 2:00pm Eastern / 1:00pm Central / 12:00pm Mountain / 11:00am Pacific

  • Tuesday, November 1st 
  • Tuesday, November 8th
  • Tuesday, November 29th
  • Tuesday, December 6th
  • Tuesday, December 13th 

Access Information:

  • After completing registration, you will be enrolled into the asynchronous version of the course. 
  • Your facilitator will be in contact with specific course work and details for first session.