Lunar and Planetary Institute Webinars - Playful Building

ACA members as well as librarians and other out-of-school time facilitators are invited to join STAR_Net and the Lunar and Planetary Institute on March 1 for two free professional development webinars on the Playful Building activities.  These hands-on activities encourage campers to experiment with materials as they collaborate on projects. Register to receive connection information and directions to participate in the webinar’s activities. (The registration password is “star”).

Playful Building: Simple Machines
Wednesday, March 1st, 2017 at 2pm Eastern/1pm Central/12 Mountain/11am Pacific
This 30-minute webinar will model Team Machine, Water Wedges, and Levers at Play as examples of simple machines that children can plan, design, test, and revise. Elements of the engineering design process will be explored in each.

Playful Building II: Design Challenges
Wednesday, March 1st, 2017 at 3 pm Eastern/2 pm Central/1 pm Mountain/12 pm Pacific
This 90-minute webinar will explore the engineering design process through open-ended activities to design a park, a water filter, and a wind turbine. Participants will discuss various options for implementation, and share ideas in how to best conduct these programs.

Topics