Associate Visitor Course - Virtual Cohort A - Feb. 2021

Wednesday, 10 February 2021 (All day)

All times local unless stated differently below.

All sessions begin at 1:00 PM EST / 10:00 AM PST

Visitors are the heart and soul of the ACA accreditation program! Without them, we would be unable to implement the accreditation program.  ACA accreditation voluteers believe the benefits they receive by far exceed the investment they make in time to train for and visit camps. This opportunity is YOUR chance at THE BEST professional development ever!

Course Specifics: This training will be comprised of three parts:

  1. An asyncronous online course component that must be completed prior to attending any virtual sessions.
  2. Four syncronous instructor-led virtual training sessions that will take place via Zoom over the span of four weeks.
  3. A 30-minute virtual 1-on-1 mentoring session to review training and self-assessment - this will be scheduled after all virtual training sessions are complete.

Course Schedule: The four syncronous virtual sessions are scheduled as follows:

  • Session 1 - Wednesday, 2/10/2021 - 1:00pm - 3:30pm EST / 10:00am - 12:30pm PST
  • Session 2 - Wednesday, 2/17/2021 - 1:00pm - 3:30pm EST / 10:00am - 12:30pm PST
  • Session 3 - Wednesday, 2/24/2021 - 1:00pm - 3:30pm EST / 10:00am - 12:30pm PST
  • Session 4 - Wednesday, 3/3/2021 - 1:00pm - 4:00pm EST / 10:00am - 1:00pm PST

Audience: This workshop is designed for ACA members who wish to volunteer as accreditation visitors.

Workshop Objectives: Participants will learn the roles and responsibilities of a visitor, including legal implications of visitor actions; develop information-gathering skills; and use resources available to make consistent compliance decisions. Participants will also understand the educational value of accreditation and become positive representatives and advocates for ACA.

Prerequisites:  Age 21 or older; Current individual ACA membership - If you are not currently a member and have not already utilized this offer, take advantage of ACA's Free Year of Membership; Submission of Associate Visitor Application approved by the ACA local office; Completion of online pre-course sychronous segment (approx. 2 hours) prior to the ivirtual instructor-led sessions.

Initial Action Steps: 

Application Deadline: January 26, 2021

 

Questions? Please contact your local Standards Manager:

Brandie Le Clair | 765-349-3536, Standards Manager - Eastern Region

Abby Burbank | 765-349-3307, Standards Manager - Central Region

Tori Barnes | 765-349-3527, Standards Manager - Western Region

 

Affiliate Offices

Kyle Medieros | ACA, New York & New Jersey

Kim Steiner | ACA, Illinois

Elizabeth Snell | ACA, New England

Online

CEC

12.00