We are pleased to recognize the following individuals and programs as recipients of our 2022 Awards. Please help us celebrate our 2022 winners at the National Conference in Portland and all year long!

Learn more about ACA's awards.


Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is the highest honor presented to a member of the American Camp Association. The award recognizes an individual for outstanding service in the field, as well as leadership within ACA.

2022 Recipient:

  • Vance Gilmore, Texoma

National Honor Award

The National Honor Award is designed to recognize meritorious service by an ACA member or former member for noteworthy contributions to the advancement of camp through leadership and industry.

2022 Recipient:

  • Kim Aycock, MST, Southeastern
  • National Honor Award Bill Tubbs, Evergreen

National Service Award

The National Service Award is designed to recognize continued and increasing service to ACA at the national level.

2022 Recipients:

  • Bekah Carmichael, Northern California
  • Jason LeVasseur, New England
  • Jamie Sirkin, New York & New Jersey
  • Ron Springs, Southeastern
  • Dan Weir, New York & New Jersey

Hedley S. Dimock Award

The Hedley S. Dimock Award is given to one who contributes to camping through related fields such as outdoor education, conservation, recreation, medicine, education, architecture, or social sciences.

2022 Recipients:

  • Simone Gamble, New York & New Jersey
  • Tracey Gaslin, PhD, CRNI, CPNP, FNP-BC, Ohio

Jack Weiner Leadership Award

The Jack Weiner Leadership Award is designed to support a young person who is pursuing a career in the camp field. The award ensures professional development by providing financial support for the recipient to attend and fully participate in the ACA National Conference.

2022 Recipient:

  • Shelby Elias, Wisconsin

Special Recognition Award

The Special Recognition Award is designed to honor groups, organizations, or individuals for their efforts to promote camp on a national level.

2022 Recipients:

  • Michelle Cummings, Rocky Mountain
  • Aaron Greenberg, New York & New Jersey
  • Marisa Fink, Ed.D., Oregon Trail

Eleanor P. Eells Award for Program Excellence

The Eleanor P. Eells Award for Program Excellence is designed to honor programs that develop effective, creative responses to the needs of people and/or societal problems using the camp environment or programs which demonstrate the positive contributions the camp experience has on the well-being of individuals and society.

2022 Recipients:

  • Arizona Humane Society-Animal Ed-Ventures, Southwest
  • Camp for All Kids, Illinois
  • Camp Harbor View, New England
  • Camp John Marc-Camp Is More Than A Place, Texoma
  • Mo-Ranch Camp in the Valley, Texoma

Eleanor P. Eells Award for Research in Practice

This award recognizes excellence in research practices that improve program practice or evaluate the outcomes of the camp experience.

2022 Recipient:

  • Camp Program Quality Initiative — Community of Practice: Evaluation Project

Marge Scanlin Research Award

Marge Scanlin was a driving force behind many of the research efforts of ACA. Upon her retirement, this award was established as an ongoing tribute to recognize Marge’s contributions. The monetary award is given annually to a student in recognition of their completed research efforts that result in originality, innovation, and significant contribution to the advancement of the body of knowledge concerning the camp experience. In addition to being presented with the award at the national conference, the winner will present the research at the Research Symposium.

2022 Recipient:

  • Rob Warner, Southwest, University of Utah

J. Wendell and Ruth T. Howe Golden Quill and Golden Lens Awards

These awards, which are funded through a memorial established in J. Wendell and Ruth T. Howe’s name, encourage excellence in writing and photography. The awards recognize those individuals who contribute their talents to Camping Magazine through quality articles that address the needs of camp professionals and outstanding photography.

2022 Golden Quill Recipients:

  • Kim Aycock, MST, "Staff Culture: Skipping a Season without Skipping a Beat" Camping Magazine, January/February 2021, Southeastern
  • Jolly Corley, MS, "Staff Culture: Skipping a Season without Skipping a Beat" Camping Magazine, January/February 2021, New England


  • Emily Golinsky, MS,"Enrollment: A Risky Business?", Camping Magazine, November/December 2021, New England

2022 Golden Lens Recipient:

  • Nina Goodheart, Photo "A Star Is Born", Ghostlight Theater Camp, Maine


  • Anne Longman, Photo "Zen and the Art of Horseback Riding", Camp Manito-wish YMCA, Wisconsin