State Regulations for Michigan

Date Revised: 03/30/2018

Governing Body: 

State of Michigan | Department of Human Services

License Required for Day Camps : 
Yes
License Required for Resident Camps: 
Yes
License Information: 
Day and Resident Camps:
 
 
 
 
 
New law on zip lines:
All camps that operate zip lines are now required to have proper licensing through the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. Zip line operators must apply for proper permit by March 1.
 
.
Criminal Background Checks Required: 
Yes
Criminal Background Checks Information: 

Yes, for all camp staff.

Michigan State Police
714 S. Harrison Road
East Lansing, MI 48823
Phone (517) 322-2521

  • $10 Per check
  • Free for non-profit organizations
State Allows FBI Checks: 
No
Driving Record Checks: 

Department of State. A request form is available online.

  • $11.00 per record; $12.00 if certified
  • Personal records can be requested for $12.00
State Sex Offender Registry: 
Minimum Wage: 
Minimum Wage Coverage and Exemptions: 

Covers all employers with at least 2 employees at one time, age 16 or older, within a calendar year and all employees unless specifically exempt.

Exemptions: summer camp employees if employed not longer than 4 months; employees exempt from FLSA (unless federal law would result in the employees being paid a lower minimum wage rate; however, certain domestic employees who provide companionship services and those who provide child care services, (other than live-in domestics) are subject to the minimum wage requirements unless he/she is under age 18, provides services on a casual basis, or provides services that do not regularly exceed 20 hours per week)

Subminimum Wage: 

Lower rates may be set by wage deviation board for apprentices, learners, and handicapped workers. 

Employees age 16 and 17 may be paid 85% of state minimum wage; employees age 16 and 17 may be paid a training wage ($4.25/hour) for the first 90 days of employment, followed by the 85% subminimum wage rate, but employees age 18 and 19 must be paid the full state minimum wage rate after receiving the training wage for the first 90 days.

Minimum Wage Source: 
Overtime Pay Requirements: 

1½ times regular rate after 40-hour week. Employees may exchange up to 240 hours of overtime pay for compensatory time off.

Overtime Pay Exemptions: 

Those employers subject to the FLSA’s minimum wage requirements; those employees exempt from the FLSA’s minimum wage requirements (however, certain domestic employees who provide companionship services and those who provide child care service (other than livein domestics) are subject to the overtime requirements unless he/she is under age 18, provides services on a casual basis, or provides services that do not regularly exceed 20 hours per week); employees in bona fide executive, administrative, or professional capacities, including academic administrators or elementary or secondary school teachers; employees of amusement or recreational establishments operating not more than 7 months in a calendar year; and agricultural employees

Meal/Rest Period Requirements: 

No general provision. Minors: 30 minute meal and rest period for minors working shift of more than 5 continuous hours. Details

Student Exemption from Unemployment Tax: 
Yes
Student Exemption Information: 

Students working 30 hours or less per week for the school they are attending.
Details.

Other Wages Source: