State Regulations for Alabama

Date Revised: 05/15/2024

Governing Body:

Alabama Public Health - Bureau of Environmental Services - Division of Food, Milk and Lodging

License Required for Day Camps :
License Required for Resident Camps:
License Information:

Day and Overnight Camps:

Alabama camps operate under the authority of the State Board of Health's Division of Food, Milk and Lodging.  Rules for establishments such as camps are enforced by county health departments. For more information about the Division of Food, Milk and Lodging, visit the FML website.

Food and Lodging Resources

Alabama State Board of Health Rules for Camp Sanitation

Criminal Background Checks Required:
Criminal Background Checks Information:

Alabama Background Check (ABC) System

Alabama Department of Public Safety
Alabama Bureau of Investigation

ATTN: Identification Unit
PO Box 1511
Montgomery, AL 36102-1511

Ala. Code § 38-13-3

$25.00 fee for General Public

Businesses have an annual subscription fee of $95.00 to access the system. Beginning in January of 2015 there will also be a $15.00 fee for each check.

State Allows FBI Checks:
State FBI Checks Text:

FBI checks are only available for certain organizations that serve children. The Criminal History Information Consent and Release form can be downloaded from the Department of Human Resources webpage. The cost is $48.85.

Office of Criminal History

Driving Record Checks:

Driver record request form is available online from the Alabama Department of Public Safety.


State Sex Offender Registry:

Alabama Sex Offender Registry

Minimum Wage:


* Federal minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour applies

Minimum Wage Coverage and Exemptions:

No specified state-level exemptions. Federal FLSA exemptions applies for those covered by Act.

Subminimum Wage:

No specified state-level Subminimum Wage. Federal FLSA Subminimum Wage rules applies for those covered by Act.

Minimum Wage Source:

Alabama Department of Labor

Overtime Pay Requirements:

No specified state-level requirements. Federal FLSA ovetime pay requirements apply for those covered by Act.

Overtime Pay Exemptions:

No specified state-level overtime page requirement exemptions. Federal FLSA overtime pay exemptions apply for those covered by Act.

Meal/Rest Period Requirements:

Minors under age 16–30 minutes after each five hour shift.

Student Exemption from Unemployment Tax:
Student Exemption Information:


Other Wages Source:

Ala. Code § 25-8-38(c)

Additional Info: