State Regulations for Arkansas

Date Revised: 01/10/2024

Governing Body:

Overnight Camps: Arkansas Department of Health

Day Camps: Department of Human Services | Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Education

License Required for Day Camps :
License Required for Resident Camps:
License Information:

Resident Camps

Day Camps

Minimum Licensing Requirements for Child Care Centers

Application for Child Care License/Registration


Zip Lines

Proof of Liability insurance and a current Safety Inspection by ADOL must be kept on site. The fee for inspection is on a graduated scale.

Act No. 631 of the 1995 Arkansas General Assembly, Amusement Ride Law, Arkansas code Annotated 23-89-50 1 et.seq.

Criminal Background Checks Required:
Criminal Background Checks Information:

Arkansas State Police - Online Criminal Background Checks

$22.00 per Arkansas State name based check request
$11.00 per Arkansas State name based check request (volunteers)
$13.00 per National/FBI fingerprint based check request
$11.75 per National/FBI fingerprint based check request (volunteers)

$25 mailed in requests

State Allows FBI Checks:
Driving Record Checks:

An individual may obtain a copy of their record by either visiting the main office in Little Rock or any Arkansas revenue office. Revenue offices can only release driving records to the individual requesting the driving record.

Web site

  • Online payment is $10.00 for an insurance record which covers a three (3) year period or $13.00 for an employment or commercial driver record which may contain information for longer than the three year period.
  • Records picked up or mailed will be $7.00 for the insurance record or $10.00 for the employment or commercial driver’s record.
State Sex Offender Registry:

Arkansas Sex Offender Registry

Minimum Wage:

$11.00 per hour 

Minimum Wage Coverage and Exemptions:

Employees for an organized camp and religious and non profit educational conference centers that operates for not more than 7 months per year; employees covered by FLSA; bona fide executives, administrators, and professionals; students who are working for the school, college, or university where enrolled and are regularly attending classes; federal, state or local government employees (except public schools and school districts); volunteers or non-employees for educational, charitable, religious or nonprofit organizations

Subminimum Wage:

Learners, apprentices, and certain handicapped workers with special license: less than state minimum permitted. Full-time students attending an accredited school and working not more than 20 hours a week (40 hours when school is not in session): at least 85% of minimum wage.

Minimum Wage Source:

Minimum Wage and Overtime  

Overtime Pay Requirements:

1½ times regular rate after 40-hour week.

Overtime Pay Exemptions:

Those employees exempt from the FLSA or the state minimum wage, and agricultural employees.

Meal/Rest Period Requirements:

No specified state-level meal/rest period requirements. Federal FLSA meal/rest period requirements apply for those covered by Act.

Student Exemption from Unemployment Tax:
Student Exemption Information:

Not all student wages are exempt from Arkansas SUTA taxes.  However they do have an exemption for students under the age of 22 that are participating in a work-study program at an educational institution.

Other Wages Source:

Arkansas Labor Laws