State Regulations for Connecticut

Date Revised: 01/08/2020

Effective October 1, 2015: A new law requires a Safe Water Skiing Endorsement to accompany a Boating License.  Known as "Emily's Law" - read the details of CT Bill SB 699 - Public Act 15-25: An Act Establishing a Minimum Age for Towing Any Person by Vessel and Requiring the Completion of Safe Towing Instruction Prior to the Issuance of a Safe Boating Certificate. 

Governing Body:

Connecticut Dept. of Public Health | Youth Camp Licensing Program

License Required for Day Camps :
License Required for Resident Camps:
License Information:

Day and Resident Camps:

Application Form & Updated Youth Camp Licensing Information

  • For Profit $815.00; Non-profit $315.00 (Initial, Renewal)

Youth Camp Statutes and Regulations

Criminal Background Checks Required:
Criminal Background Checks Information:

Connecticut State Police Bureau of Identification
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457-9294

Youth camps that get funding from Care 4 Kids need a background check at least once every five years.

State of Connecticut Criminal History Record Request Form

  • $50.00

Connecticut General Statutes: 29-529-17a

State Allows FBI Checks:
Driving Record Checks:

Copy Records Request Forms are available through the Connecticut DMW Web Site.

  • $20
State Sex Offender Registry:

Connecticut Sex Offender Registry

Minimum Wage:

$11.00 per hour

Minimum Wage Coverage and Exemptions:

Covers all employers, except industries covered by wage order or legislation, and all nonexempt employees (including apprentices and welfare recipients participating in a town work training or work readiness program).

Exemptions: employees of camps or resorts open 6 or fewer months a year; employees of nonprofit theaters not operating more than 7 months a year; bona fide executives, administrators, and professionals; volunteers for an educational, charitable, religious, scientific, historical, literary, or nonprofit organization

Subminimum Wage:

At least 85% of minimum wage for: learners, apprentices, and minors under age 18 for the first 200 work hours (pay minimum wage thereafter), unless employed in an exempt institutional training program; minors ages 16 to 18 employed by the state or a political subdivision; and agricultural workers ages 14 to 18. 70% of minimum wage for minors age 14 to 18 in agriculture if employer had less than 8 workers at a time in previous calendar year. Subminimum rates for handicapped and disabled may be set by Commissioner under special licenses for a fixed period.

Minimum Wage Source:

Conn. Department of Labor

Overtime Pay Requirements:

1½ times regular rate after 40-hour week

Overtime Pay Exemptions:

Those employees exempt from the state minimum wage; certain drivers and their helpers; agricultural employees; any permanent paid members of municipal uniformed police force and firefighters

Meal/Rest Period Requirements:

Meal period: 30 minutes after first 2 hours and before last 2 hours during a shift of 7½ consecutive hours or more. Does not apply to professional employees certified by the state board of education and employed by a local school board to work directly with children.

Exemptions may be granted by Labor Commissioner if (1) compliance would adversely affect public safety, (2) the duties of a position may be performed by only one employee, (3) the employer has less than 5 employees on a shift at a single place of business, or (4) the continuous nature of the employer’s operations requires employees to be available to respond to urgent or unusual conditions at all times and they are compensated for break and meal periods.

Student Exemption from Unemployment Tax:
Student Exemption Information:

Wages earned by employees who happen to be students for private employers are exempt if the employer is a non-profit entity otherwise exempt from unemployment compensation tax.