Date Revised: 04/07/2023
Georgia Department of Human Services
Day camps may need to be licensed through Bright from the Start: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning, unless exempt.
Exemption Rules & Information: Day camp programs for children five (5) years and older that are operated between school terms, whose primary purpose is to provide organized recreational, religious, or instructional activities. The day camp programs may operate during summer and other school breaks and shall operate for no more than twelve (12) hours per day. Effective April 1, 2021, all new exemption applications must include zoning approval, fire inspection from a fire marshal, and a building/fire certificate of occupancy for each location.
Outdoor Child Caring Programs (formerly Therapeutic Camps) must be licensed.
All camps with food service must obtain a food service permit. See Food Service Inspection Resources from the Georgia Dept. of Public Health.
Background checks are required for day camps licensed through Bright from the Start and Outdoor Child Caring Programs.
All family day care home providers, directors, and employees hired on or after January 1, 2014 will be required to undergo a national fingerprint background check and obtain a satisfactory determination from DECAL. All employees hired prior to January 1, 2014 will have to undergo a national fingerprint background check and obtain a satisfactory determination from DECAL by January 1, 2017. Beginning January 1, 2019, every family day care home provider, director, and employee must have a satisfactory records check determination on file that has been issued within the past five years; a new fingerprint background check will be required every five years. Learn more about his new rule here
Fees vary up to $20.00
Available through the Georgia Department of Driver Services website.
- $6 for 3 year record, $8 for 7 year record
Covers all nonexempt employers and employees
Exemptions: employers with 5 employees or less; with annual sales of $40,000 or less; high school and college students; tipped employees; and employees of nonprofit child-care institutions or long-term care facilities serving children or mentally disabled adults if the employee resides in the facility, receives free board and lodging, and is paid at least $10,000 a year.
Camps may qualify for the amusement or recreational establishment exemption.
Disabled and other disadvantaged workers may be paid less than minimum wage only if labor commissioner grants an exemption
No specified state-level requirements. Federal FLSA ovetime pay requirements apply for those covered by Act.
No specified state-level overtime page requirement exemptions. Federal FLSA overtime pay exemptions apply for those covered by Act.
No specified state-level meal/rest period requirements. Federal FLSA meal/rest period requirements apply for those covered by Act.
Students are exempt only if the employment is a recognized part of a program which combines academic instruction with work experience.