State Regulations for Illinois

Date Revised: 8/25/2022

Governing Body:

Illinois Dept. of Public Health | Division of Environmental Health

License Required for Day Camps :
License Required for Resident Camps:
Criminal Background Checks Required:
Criminal Background Checks Information:

Background checks required for Day Care Centers; see Definitions and Appendix B in 89 Ill. Adm. Code 385

Illinois State Police
Bureau of Identification

260 North Chicago Street
Joliet, Illinois 60431-1060

Criminal Identification Act, 20 Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) 2630

  • Fingerprint Search - $20
  • Non-Fingerprint Search - $16
State Allows FBI Checks:
Driving Record Checks:

An individual can request a driving record in person at a Driver Services Facility or by writing the Secretary of State in Springfield.

  • Fee of $12
State Sex Offender Registry:

Illinois Sex Offender Registry

Minimum Wage Coverage and Exemptions:

Covers employers with 4 or more nonexempt employees, excluding the employer’s family.

Exemptions: certain camp counselors; members of religious organizations

Subminimum Wage:

$9.25/hour for adults age 18 or older for first 90 calendar days of employment .

$9.25/hour for minors under age 18. 

Less than minimum wage permitted for handicapped, disabled, or elderly employees with special license; full minimum wage required if individual’s production level equals that of nondisadvantaged employees.

Overtime Pay Requirements:

1½ times regular rate after 40-hour week.

Overtime Pay Exemptions:

Agricultural workers; public sector employees who are FLSA-exempt; bona fide executive, administrative, or professional employees as defined by the FLSA (nonprofit corporations may adopt a lower rate standard than federal law for these employees); those employed instead of another under a worktime exchange agreement between employees; certain employees of nonprofit educational or residential child care institutions

Meal/Rest Period Requirements:

Meal period: 20 minutes taken during first 5 hours of scheduled shifts of 7½ or more consecutive hours, unless collective bargaining agreement provides otherwise; excludes employees who monitor individuals with developmental disabilities or mental illnesses, or both, who, in the course of such work, are required to be on call during an entire 8 hour work period (but such employees must be allowed to eat a meal during the 8-hour work period while continuing to monitor those individuals).

Minors under age 16: 30-minute meal period if scheduled to work for 5 continuous hours.

Student Exemption from Unemployment Tax:
Student Exemption Information: