State Regulations for Iowa

Date Revised: 01/10/2024

Governing Body:

Iowa Department of Human Services

Iowa Department of Public Health : Camps with Food Service

License Required for Day Camps :
License Required for Resident Camps:
License Information:

Day and Resident Camps:

Both day and resident camp programs may be exempt from attaining a childcare license through several exemptions, including those that receive national accreditation.

Food Establishment Permit Required

Iowa Administrative Code: IAC 441-109.1(237A)

Child Care Centers and Preschools: Licensing Standards and Procedures

Summer Camp Food Regulation

Criminal Background Checks Required:
Criminal Background Checks Information:

Checks may be performed intermittently by the agency (DHS)

Iowa Records and Identification Bureau
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

$15 per last name

Iowa Administrative Code: Public Safety Department, 661, Chapter 8, Criminal Justice Information

*Only fingerprinted arrests included in search

State Allows FBI Checks:
State FBI Checks Text:

Checks are only done for qualified organizations.


Driving Record Checks:

Available through the Iowa Department of Transportation website.

  • $5.50 plus $1.50 service charge
State Sex Offender Registry:

Iowa Sex Offender Registry

Minimum Wage:

$7.25 per hour

Minimum Wage Coverage and Exemptions:

Covers all employees covered by FLSA.

Exemptions: FLSA-exempt employers (exception–enterprise exemption applies only to an enterprise made up of one or more retail or service establishments whose annual gross volume of sales made or business done is less than $250,000, excluding excise taxes)

Subminimum Wage:

At least $6.35/hour until the employee completes 90 calendar days of service. Employees terminated after completing the 90- day period and rehired within 3 years must be paid full minimum wage.

Other subminimum rates may be paid under special certificates to learners, apprentices (at least age 16), student-learners (not less than 75% of minimum wage), full-time students (at least 85% of minimum wage), handicapped workers/trainees (may be less than 50% of minimum wage if severely handicapped, but not less than 25% if multi-handicapped).

Overtime Pay Requirements:

No specified state-level requirements. Federal FLSA ovetime pay requirements apply for those covered by Act.

Overtime Pay Exemptions:

No specified state-level overtime page requirement exemptions. Federal FLSA overtime pay exemptions apply for those covered by Act.

Meal/Rest Period Requirements:

No general provision. Minors: 30 minute rest period for employees under age 16 working shift of 5 or more hours.

Student Exemption from Unemployment Tax:
Student Exemption Information:

There is an exemption for employers of students if there is a religious affiliation and the mission is ministerial.  There is no exemption specifically for secular-based activities. 

Other Wages Source:

Iowa Code §92.7

Wage and Hour FAQ