Date Revised: 8/26/2022
Kansas Department of Health and Environment
For any staff, substitute, or volunteer:
Kansas Bureau of Investigation
Attn: Criminal History Records Section
1620 SW Tyler
Topeka, KS 66612-1837
Name Based Checks - $20.00
Fingerprint Checks - $35.00
Qualified agencies dealing with children, the elderly or disabled clientele - $19.75
A request form is available online from the Kansas Department of Revenue website.
- $16.70 online
- $10 at the Kansas Driver License Exam station
Covers all employees unless specifically exempt.
Exemptions: employees covered by FLSA; bona fide executives, administrators, and professionals; volunteers for nonprofit organizations; parttime or occasional employees under age 18
For learners and apprentices: 80% of state minimum wage when hired, 90% after 2 months, full minimum wage after 3 months (with permit from Secretary of Human Resources). The number of apprentices or learners hired at one time may not exceed 1 worker for each 5 regular employees, and they may not work on a parttime or occasional basis for less than 40 hours/week.
For handicapped and patient laborers at state institutions or hospitals: At least 85% of state minimum wage (with 1-year permit from Secretary).
1½ times regular rate after 40-hour week.
Those employees exempt from the state minimum wage
No specified state-level meal/rest period requirements. Federal FLSA meal/rest period requirements apply for those covered by Act.
There is an exemption only for certain services performed by students, inmates of correctional institutions, hospital patients, recipients of certain rehabilitation work-relief and work-training programs.