State Regulations for Kentucky

Date Revised: 01/10/2024

Governing Body:

Kentucky Department for Public Health

License Required for Day Camps :
License Required for Resident Camps:
Criminal Background Checks Required:
State Allows FBI Checks:
Driving Record Checks:

request form is available online.

  • $3.00
  • $5.50 if accessing electronically
State Sex Offender Registry:

Kentucky Sex Offender Registry

Minimum Wage:

$7.25 per hour

Minimum Wage Coverage and Exemptions:

Covers all employees unless specifically exempt.

Exemptions: employees of legislative research commissions, state police, judicial support agencies, courts, or the state; employees of an organized nonprofit camp, religious, or nonprofit educational conference center that does not operate more than 7 months in a calendar year; bona fide executives, administrators, and professionals (includes computer-related professionals);

Subminimum Wage:

Learners, apprentices, the disabled, sheltered workshop employees, and students may be paid less than the minimum wage for a fixed period under certificates issued by the labor commissioner.

Overtime Pay Requirements:

1½ times regular rate after 40-hour week. Covered employees who work 7 days in one week must be paid 1½ times the regular rate for work done on the 7th day.

Overtime Pay Exemptions:

Those employees exempt from the state minimum wage; Exemptions to 7th day requirement: those who cannot work more than 40 hours a week (employers may credit overtime paid under other laws or by contract against 7th day of overtime); those whose duties are mainly limited to directing or supervising other employees; those operating boats or other water transportation; and certain nurses.

Meal/Rest Period Requirements:

Meal period: reasonable amount of time taken within 3-5 hours after start of shift; at least 30 minutes for minors under age 18 if working at least 5 hours.

Rest period: 10 minutes for every 4 hours worked (in addition to regularly scheduled meal period).

Student Exemption from Unemployment Tax:
Student Exemption Information:

CO-OP students are exempt as long as they are enrolled in school and are receiving academic credit for the work performed. A co-op student who continues to work between school terms will not be exempt during those periods.