State Regulations for Louisiana

Date Revised: 08/26/2022

Governing Body:

Department of Health and Hospitals

License Required for Day Camps :
License Required for Resident Camps:
Criminal Background Checks Required:
Criminal Background Checks Information:

Bureau of Criminal Identification & Information
P.O. Box 66614, #A-6
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
(225) 925-6095

State Allows FBI Checks:
State FBI Checks Text:

An individual must fill out the Authorization Form and General Disclosure form. All forms available from the Louisiana State Police.

The cost is $26.00. For FBI processing, where authorization is required, there is an additional $16.25 fee. Results are returned within 6–8 weeks.

Driving Record Checks:

A request form is available online from the OMV website.

$16 plus $2 online fee

Minimum Wage:

N/A* There is no state minimum wage law.

*Federal minimum wage rate applies

Minimum Wage Coverage and Exemptions:

No specified state-level exemptions. Federal FLSA exemptions applies for those covered by Act.

Subminimum Wage:

No specified state-level Subminimum Wage. Federal FLSA Subminimum Wage rules applies for those covered by Act.

Overtime Pay Requirements:

No specified state-level requirements. Federal FLSA ovetime pay requirements apply for those covered by Act.

Overtime Pay Exemptions:

No specified state-level overtime page requirement exemptions. Federal FLSA overtime pay exemptions apply for those covered by Act.

Meal/Rest Period Requirements:

Meal period: minors–30 minutes during each 5-hour work period. Details.

Student Exemption from Unemployment Tax:
Student Exemption Information:

There is an exemption only when students are employed by a school, college, or university at which student is regularly attending classes. Details.

Other Wages Source:

La. R.S. 23:213, 23:486