Date Revised: 01/04/2019
Massachusetts Office of Health and Human Services
Day Camps and Overnight Camps:
Camps operated by a municipal recreation department are exempt from this licensing requirement. See Advisory to Municipal Boards of Health and Recreation Departments.
For both staff and volunteers
Criminal History Systems Board
200 Arlington St.
Chelsea, MA 02150
ATTN: CORI Unit.
Fees range up to $30 depending on party requesting information
Request for Driving Record from the Mass. Dept. of Transportation.
- Fee of $20
Massachusetts Sex Offender Registry Board (SORB)
The Massachusetts minimum wage rate automatically increases to 10 cents above the rate set in the Fair Labor Standards Act if the Federal minimum wage equals or becomes higher than the State minimum.
Covers all employees unless specifically exempt; Exemptions: professional service employees
Not less than 80% of minimum wage for students, learners, apprentices, and handicapped workers with a special certificate for a fixed period from the Labor Commissioner; applies only to first 80 hours of employment in retail, merchandising, and laundry occupations.
Certain minimum rates are set: $1.25/hour for ushers, ticket sellers/takers; $36/week for janitors and caretakers of residential property who are furnished living quarters; $1.60/hour for agricultural workers (except minors under 17 and the employer’s parent, spouse, child, or other immediate family member) and $1.85 for all others.
1½ times regular rate after 40-hour week (sums paid as commissions, drawing accounts, bonuses, or other incentive pay based on sales or production are excluded from both the regular and overtime rate computation).
Employees in a nonprofit charitable summer camp; laborers in agriculture and farming on a farm; employees in a nonprofit school or college; those in a business or seasonal operation carried on not more than 120 days in any year; those employees exempt from the state minimum wage; janitors or caretakers of residential property who are furnished with living quarters and are paid at least $30 a week; bona fide executives, administrators, or professionals, or qualified trainees earning more than $80 a week; learners, apprentices or handicapped persons under a special license
Meal period: 30 minutes after 6 hours of work (violations subject to $300 - $600 fine).
You can call the Seasonal Employer Certification number for your specific questions. 617-626-5451