Date Revised: 09/05/2022
Minnesota Department of Health | Environmental Health Division
Resident Camps: Separate license required for youth camps providing lodging, camps providing food service or camps with a pool or spa
Lodging License: Lodging in Minnesota | Youth Camps
Food License: Licensing and Plan Review
Additional relevant statutes and rules: Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 144 (Sections 144.71-144.74) and Minnesota Administrative Rules, Chapter 4630 (4630.2300-4630.4750)
Driver and Vehicle Records are available through the Driver & Vehicle Services website.
- $9.50 record copy
- $10.50 certified record copy
$10.33 per hour* for "large employers," defined as any enterprise whose annual gross volume of sales made or business done is not less than $500,000.
$8.42 per hour* for "small employers," defined as any enterprise whose annual gross volume of sales made or business done is less than $500,000.
*Federal minimum wage rate applies
Covers all employees unless specifically exempt.
Exemptions: staff members of a nonprofit organization employed on a seasonal basis in an organized children’s resident or day camp; bona fide executives, administrators, and professionals; volunteers for nonprofit organizations; minors under age 18 working less than 20 hours a week on municipal recreational programs
"Minnesota also exempts the following individuals from its minimum wage and overtime requirements:
staff members employed on a seasonal basis by an organization for work in an organized resident or day camp operating under a permit issued under Minnesota Statute 144.72" From Minnesota Employment Law Handbook
$7.75/hour for employees under age 20 for the first 90 consecutive days of employment. The Department may issue rules for the handicapped, apprentices, and learners.
1½ times regular rate after 48-hour week. State and political subdivision employees: 1½ hours off for each hour worked over 48 in any workweek instead of overtime pay.
Those employees exempt from the state minimum wage (except corn detasslers under age 18); seasonal employees for a carnival, fair, or ski facility
Meal period: sufficient time to eat a meal during shift of 8 or more hours; need not be paid time; collective bargaining agreements may provide otherwise.
Rest period: adequate time to visit restroom in each 4 consecutive hours of work (collective bargaining agreements may provide otherwise); reasonable time to express breast milk for nursing mothers (doesn’t need to be paid time).
Contact the Unemployment Office at 651-259-7329.