State Regulations for Missouri

Date Revised: 01/10/2024

Governing Body:

Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services

License Required for Day Camps :
License Required for Resident Camps:
License Information:

Resident and Day Camps:

Note "summer camp" exemption in 210.211.1 Licensing & Regulations

Child Care Laws, Regulations & Guidelines

Criminal Background Checks Required:
Criminal Background Checks Information:

Missouri State Highway Patrol
Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division
P.O. Box 568
Jefferson City, MO 65102
(573) 526-6153

Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS)

  • $20 per fingerprint check
  • $15 per name check
  • $16.50 ($15.00 for volunteers) for FBI background check for qualified entities.
State Allows FBI Checks:
Driving Record Checks:

Available through the Motor Vehicle and Driver Licensing Division website.

$2.82, $0.50  fax transmission fee

State Sex Offender Registry:

Missouri Sex Offender Registry

Minimum Wage:


Minimum Wage Coverage and Exemptions:

Covers all employers and employees as defined by the FLSA.

Exemptions: individuals employed for less than 4 months a year by a resident camp or day camp, or employees of an educational conference center operated by an educational, charitable, or nonprofit organization; students in a work-study program; bona fide executive, administrative, or professional employees; volunteers or nonemployees for an educational, charitable, religious, or nonprofit organization; employees of a retail or service business with an annual gross income of less than $500,000


Subminimum Wage:

A subminimum wage rate for learners and apprentices was rescinded in 2009. Section 290.517, RSMo and 8 CSR 30-4.060(6) both require a hearing addressing the specific exception requested before a training wage lower than the applicable minimum wage rate may be paid Until then, covered nonexempt employees need to be paid the applicable minimum wage rate.

The fair market value of meals, lodging, and other goods and services may be deducted by the employer as a credit toward the payment of the minimum wage to the employee so long as the meals, lodging and other goods and services are voluntarily received by the employee for the private benefit of the employee.


Overtime Pay Requirements:

1½ times regular rate after 40-hour week; 52-hour week for employees of an amusement or recreation business (as defined by FLSA).

Overtime Pay Exemptions:

Those employees exempt from the state minimum wage.

Meal/Rest Period Requirements:

No specified state-level meal/rest period requirements. Federal FLSA meal/rest period requirements apply for those covered by Act.

Student Exemption from Unemployment Tax:
Student Exemption Information:

Services for which academic credits are given and which are performed by an individual who is a student enrolled in a public or nonprofit school.

Other Wages Source:

Resources for MO Employers