Date Revised: 08/29/2022
Montana Department of Public Health & Human Services
Available through the Montana Motor Vehicle Division Office website.
Fee of $7.87
Covers all employees, except farm workers, unless specifically exempt.
Exemptions: employees covered by the FLSA (unless the state minimum wage is higher than the federal rate); students in a distributive education program established under an accredited educational programs; volunteers for nonprofit organizations whether fully or partially reimbursed; certain handicapped workers; apprentices or learners (exempt for up to 30 days); bona fide executives, administrators, or professionals; live-in managers of lodging or personal care facilities
Apprentices and learners may be paid subminimum rates for 30 days if exempted by the Labor Commissioner. Farm workers under age 18 may be paid subminimum rates (of at least 50% of the minimum wage) for 180 days.
1½ times regular rate after 40-hour week; 48-hour week for students working and receiving board, lodging or other facilities at seasonal amusement or recreational areas. Overtime inapplicable to farm workers.
Guides, cooks, camp tenders and livestock handlers for a licensed outfitter; those employees exempt from the state minimum wage; employees covered under Part I of the Interstate Commerce Act
No specified state-level meal/rest period requirements. Federal FLSA meal/rest period requirements apply for those covered by Act.
Services performed in the employ of a school or university if the service is performed by a student who is enrolled and regularly attending classes at the school or university. Or, Service performed by a fulltime student in a internship program taken for academic credit at an educational institution that combines instruction with work experience.
Details. Students, interns, scholars- Special Classes of Employment and Special Types of Payments