Date Revised: 8/29/2022
Nevada Department of Health & Human Services | State Health Division
The boards of health of health districts and counties shall issue licenses to qualified applicants for the operation of children’s camps. No children’s camp may be operated without first obtaining such a license.
Most day camps are likely exempt from child care facilities regulations: Nevada Revised Statutes, Chapter 432A, Services and Facilities for Care of Children
Nevada Department of Public Safety
Records and Technology Division
333 W. Nye Lane, Suite 100
Carson City, NV 89706
$27.00 per record
$7 uncertified, $11 certified
$9.50 per hour (with health insurance benefits provided by employer and received by employee)
$10.50 per hour (with no health insurance benefits provided by employer)
July 1, 2023
$11.25 per hour (with no health insurance benefits provided by employer)
$10.25 per hour (with health insurance benefits provided by employer and received by employee)
Covers all nonexempt employees in private employment; Exemptions: certain handicapped workers under special certificates. Any person employed by a children’s camp on a written contract basis for a specified term longer than 1 week is exempt from the provisions of NRS 608.250 to 608.290, inclusive, and chapter 609 of NRS relating to daily and weekly hours of labor only if such camp is operated by a nonprofit organization which is exempt from federal income tax under I.R.C. § 501. Details
Minors under age 20: $4.25 per hour. Severely handicapped persons specified in certain certificates issued by the rehabilitation division of the state department of employment and training may be paid a specified subminimum wage.
Those employees exempt from the minimum wage; executives, administrators, and professionals
Meal period: 30 minutes for 8 hours worked. An employee may voluntarily agree to forego a meal period (employer has burden of proving agreement).
Rest period (the following does not apply where there is only one employee at a place of employment, or where a collective bargaining agreement provides otherwise): (a) 10 minutes for each 4 hours worked, taken in the middle of each work period if possible; (b) one 10-minute rest period if employee works at least 3½ continuous hours but less than 7 continuous hours; (c) two 10-minute rest periods if employee works at least 7 continuous hours but less than 11 continuous hours; (d) three 10-minute rest periods if employee works at least 11 continuous hours but less than 15 continuous hours; (e) four 10-minute rest periods if employee works at least 15 continuous hours but less than 19 continuous hours. Unpaid lunch breaks are not considered when determining the number of hours worked. An employee may voluntarily agree to forego any rest period (employer has burden of proving agreement). Employers may apply to Labor Commissioner for an exemption if business necessity precludes meal and rest periods.
Student employment can be exempt under certain conditions. The student must be enrolled at a nonprofit or public educational institution in a full-time program for credit that combines academic instruction with work experience.