Date Revised: 08/31/2022
North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
Day Camp Licensing:
Yes, for licensed Day Camps
The North Carolina Court System
N.C. Administrative Office of the Courts (NCAOC)
NCAOC's Remote Public Access team
- $10.75 Limited Extract
- $10.75 Complete Extract
- $14 Address History
- $15 Certified True Copy
Covers all employees unless specifically exempt.
Exemptions: employees of summer camps or seasonal religious or nonprofit educational conference centers; a spouse, child, parent, or other dependent of the employer; employees of establishments that have less than 3 employees in a workweek; bona fide executives, administrators, professionals, and outside salespeople as defined by the FLSA; bona fide volunteers in medical, educational, religious, or nonprofit organizations where there is no employment relationship; seasonal recreational program employees run by the state or a local government
90% of minimum wage for fulltime students, learners, apprentices, and messengers, rounded to lowest nickel. Other subminimum rates may be set for handicapped workers.
85% of minimum wage for: persons unemployed for at least 15 weeks and economically disadvantaged, persons whose families are receiving Work First Family Assistance or are receiving supplemental social security benefits (under special certificates) for up to 52 weeks, and seasonal amusement/recreational and food service employees.
1½ times the regular rate after 40- hour week; 45-hour week for seasonal amusement or recreational establishment employees; after hours over 8 in a day or 80 in a 14-day work period for hospital and nursing home employees if notified in advance. Alternative methods of computing overtime that are permitted under the FLSA are permitted under the state wage-hour law.
Those employees exempt from the state minimum wage; state and local government employees; child care workers or other live-in employees in homes for dependent children.
No general provision. Minors: 30 minute rest period for employees under age 16 who work shift of more than 5 continuous hours.
Students enrolled and attending classes at a non-profit or public school which combines credit for academic studies and work experience. This service must be an integral part of the school's program and the school must certify the service (co-op programs).