Date Revised: 9/16/2022
Oklahoma Department of Human Services
Overnight Camps — Licensing Requirements for School-Age Programs and Summer Day Camps
A residential camp is considered a “School Age Program.” If accredited by ACA, camp is automatically certified.
Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation
6600 North Harvey
Oklahoma City OK 73116
$15 name based check
$19 fingerprint based check
A request form is available online from the Okla. Dept. of Public Safety website.
Fee of $25.00
Covers employers with more than 10 employees at any one location or place of business; an employer with less than 10 full-time employees (or the equivalent of 10) at any one location or place of business is covered if it’s annual business gross exceeds $100,000/year. Employees of the state or any lessee or concessionaire of the state are specifically covered.
Exemptions: temporary part-time employees who work less than 25 hours a week; employees under age 18 who have not graduated from high school or a vocational training program; employees covered by the FLSA; employees under age 22 who are regularly enrolled students in a high school, college, university, or vocational training program; bona fide executives, administrators, and professionals
Commissioner of Labor may set subminimum rates for learners, apprentices, messengers, and handicapped and disabled workers (under special certificates for a fixed period), employees of state or local governments or instrumentalities, and students and regular attendants at institutions of higher learning.
No specified state-level requirements. Federal FLSA ovetime pay requirements apply for those covered by Act.
No specified state-level overtime page requirement exemptions. Federal FLSA overtime pay exemptions apply for those covered by Act.
Rest period: for minors under age 16, one cumulative hour of rest during 8 consecutive hour shift, including one 30-minute rest period after 5 consecutive hours’ worked.
40 Okl. Stat. §75 (Download)