State Regulations for Rhode Island

Date Revised: 04/19/2019

Governing Body:

State of Rhode Island | Department of Health

License Required for Day Camps :
License Required for Resident Camps:
Criminal Background Checks Required:
Criminal Background Checks Information:

Attorney General Bureau of Criminal Identification
150 South Main Street
Providence, RI 02903
(401) 274-4400

State of Rhode Island, Department of Children, Youth and Families | Criminal Records Check Policy

$5 per check, $35 for national check

State Allows FBI Checks:
Driving Record Checks:

Available online through the Division of Motor Vehicles Web Site

$19.50 driving record fee

Minimum Wage:

$10.50 per hour

Minimum Wage Coverage and Exemptions:

Covers all employees unless specifically exempt.

Exemptions: employees of organized camps (except annual full-time employees) that do not operate more than 7 months a year; volunteers for educational, charitable, religious, and nonprofit organizations; an individual employed by a son, daughter, or spouse, and children under age 21 employed by a parent(s); federal government employees

Subminimum Wage:

Subminimum rates permitted for: Minors age 14 and 15 - at least 75% of minimum wage for workweek of 24 hours or less, and full minimum wage if over 24 hours; Full-time students under age 19 working for a nonprofit association or corporation of a religious, educational library, or community service nature - at least 90% of minimum wage; Disabled employees - with special license from Labor Director; Learners and apprentices - with special license for up to 90 days and full minimum wage thereafter.

Overtime Pay Requirements:

1½ times the regular rate after 40-hour week. Hours worked on Sundays and holidays must generally be paid at time-and-a-half. Employees cannot be penalized or discharged for refusing to work on a Sunday or holiday, unless employed by a manufacturer that operates for 7 continuous days per week. “Holidays” include New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Victory Day (second Monday in August), Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day. If a holiday falls on a Sunday, the following day is observed as the legal holiday.

Overtime Pay Exemptions:

Those employees exempt from the state minimum wage; employees of summer camps open up to 6 months a year; state employees on nonstandard work schedules; bona fide executives, administrators, and professionals earning at least $200 a week; other salaried employees making at least $200 a week, unless wages, if computed on a weekly basis, would fall below minimum wage

Meal/Rest Period Requirements:

All employees are entitled to a twenty (20) minute mealtime within a six (6) hour work shift, and a thirty (30) minute mealtime with an eight (8) hour work shift. An employer shall not be required to compensate an employee for this mealtime. This provision shall not apply to: (a) an employer of a health care facilities licensed in accordance with chapter 23-17 of the general laws; or (b) an employer who employs less than three (3) people on any shift at the worksite.

Student Exemption from Unemployment Tax:
Student Exemption Information: