State Regulations for Texas

Date Revised: 9/16/2022

Governing Body:

Texas Department of State Health Services

License Required for Day Camps :
License Required for Resident Camps:
License Information:

Day and Resident Camps:

Youth Camp Licensing Program

Texas Youth Camp Safety and Health Act

Criminal Background Checks Required:
Criminal Background Checks Information:

Texas Department of Public Safety
PO Box 4143
Austin, TX 78765-4143

CRS Related Laws

Criminal History Search

  • $3.00 (+ service fees) per online search;
  • $10.00 offline name based search
  • $15 offline fingerprint searches
State Allows FBI Checks:
Driving Record Checks:

Texas Dept. of Public Safety, Driver License Div. website

Driving record request: $10 for certified record

State Sex Offender Registry:

Texas Sex Offender Registry

Minimum Wage:

$7.25 per hour

Minimum Wage Coverage and Exemptions:

Covers all employees unless specifically exempt.

Exemptions: employees of any camp run by a religious, educational, charitable, or nonprofit organization; employees of certain amusement or recreational establishments; employees of the Boy or Girls Scouts of America; those employees covered by the FLSA; employees under age 18 who are not high school or vocational training program graduates and employees under age 20 regularly enrolled in a high school, college, university, or vocational training program (unless an agricultural or piece rate worker); bona fide executives, administrators, or professionals; volunteers or non-employees providing services for an educational, charitable, religious, or nonprofit organization; employees of a family member.

Subminimum Wage:

Not permitted.

Overtime Pay Requirements:

No specified state-level requirements. Federal FLSA ovetime pay requirements apply for those covered by Act.

Overtime Pay Exemptions:

No specified state-level overtime page requirement exemptions. Federal FLSA overtime pay exemptions apply for those covered by Act.

Meal/Rest Period Requirements:

No specified state-level meal/rest period requirements. Federal FLSA meal/rest period requirements apply for those covered by Act.

Student Exemption from Unemployment Tax:
Student Exemption Information:

501(c)(3) exempt organizations are not liable unless they have 4 or more employees during twenty different weeks in a calendar year.

Other Wages Source:

Texas Workforce Commission