Date Revised: 8/29/2022
Day camps (as Child Care, up through age 12) and Programs for Venerable Individuals are required to be licensed.
Utah Dept. of Public Safety
Bureau of Criminal Identification
3888 West 5400 South
Salt Lake City, Utah 84118
Name Check - $15.00
Fingerprint - $25.00
FBI/Fingerprint - $36.50-41.50 employee
https://publicsafety.utah.gov/Organizations that work with children and vulnerable adults are eligible to obtain an FBI check. Turn around time is 3-4 weeks.
Available through the MVR Personal Website.
Covers all employees unless specifically exempt.
Exemptions: seasonal employees of nonprofit camping programs, religious or recreational programs, and registered and nonprofit educational and charitable organizations; employees covered under the FLSA; employees of an immediate family member; apprentices and students employed by the school they attend; and certain seasonal hourly employees working for a seasonal amusement establishment with permanent structures and facilities.
At least $4.25/hour for minors for first 90 days of employment (then pay minimum wage); a subminimum rate set by commissioner may be paid to learners for first 160 hours of employment; rates lower than the minimum wage may be authorized by the commissioner for handicapped workers.
No general provision. 1½ times the regular rate after 40-hour week for any person or company that performs work for a state, county, or municipal government.
No specified state-level overtime page requirement exemptions. Federal FLSA overtime pay exemptions apply for those covered by Act.
Meal period: minors-30 minutes for 5 hours’ work. Rest period: minors-10 minutes after every 4 hours (taken after 3 consecutive hours).
If the camp is a non-profit organization, they are not required to pay the unemployment.