Date Revised: 9/16/2022
Wisconsin Department of Health Services
Wisconsin Department of Children and Families
Applicable only for organizations mandated by state statute. Wisconsin camps typically do not fall into this category.
Request forms available online at the Wisconsin Department of Transportation Drivers & Vehicles website
Fee of $5-$10
Covers all employers (including the state and its political subdivisions, all state and local government departments and agencies, and state and local legislatures and courts) and employees unless specifically exempt.
Exemptions: casual domestic employees in work that is not connected to the employer’s business and occurs on an irregular basis of not more than 15 hours a week for any one employer
Camp counselors age 18 and over: $350.00 per week if no room or board provided; $265 per week if only board provided; and $210 per week if room and board provided. Camp counselors age 17 or younger: $350 per week if no room or board provided; $265 per week if only board provided; and $210 per week if room and board provided. Opportunity employees (under age 20 during the first 90 consecutive days of employment) and minors (under age 18): $5.90/hour.
No general provision. 1½ times the minimum wage after 40-hour week for nonexempt employees in: manufacturing, mechanical or mercantile industries; beauty parlors; confectionary stores; telegraph or telephone offices or exchanges, or express or transportation companies; hotels; laundries; restaurants; and state and local government.
Administrators, executives, and professionals; movie theater and amusement or recreational establishment employees; agricultural and domestic workers; employees of certain independent contractors
Meal period: at least 30 minutes taken reasonably close to typical meal times (6 a.m., 12 p.m., 6 p.m., and 12 a.m.), or midway in a shift. Working for more than 6 consecutive hours without a meal break is prohibited for minors and discouraged for adults.